Hi! It is used to make all kinds of chocolate products: baking chocolate, dark chocolate, milk chocolate, white chocolate, chocolate bars, cocoa powder, cocoa butter…. This brings us to the next question. When we talk about liquor (ˈli-kər) we usually refer to a beverage that contains alcohol. She also guest blogs on LatinRootsTravel and GringosAbroad. Chocolate liquor contains cocoa solids and cocoa butter in about equal amounts. Did you notice the difference in the pronunciation in “liquor” “liqueur?“ Is that how you pronounce them? Is chocolate liquor the same as chocolate liqueur? Think vodka, whiskey or rum. It is the smooth liquid produced by grinding the center of the cocoa bean and is just one of the transitional states of cocoa from plant to edible chocolate. But when that base product (chocolate liquor) is used to make other treats, those products might not be considered vegan. Some chocolate liqueurs contain dark chocolate and others are made with milk chocolate or white chocolate. Currently based in N.S., Canada. The chocolate liqueur contains fresh cream, conched Belgian dark chocolate, genuine Bourbon vanilla from Madagascar, granulated sugar and the middle cut of sugar beet distillate. The French word "crème" refers to the creamy texture of this very sweet liqueur, achieved by having a sugar content of at least 250 g/l as required by European law, and there is no dairy cream in it. It can also be used in cooking/baking recipes and as a filling for chocolates. Other ingredients, like dairy (milk and whey), honey, white sugar, and gelatin may be used in some chocolate. So I hope I’ve helped with that and hey, maybe now you’ll have a new riddle to share – something like “When is a liquor not liquor?”… When it’s chocolate liquor! This can be a tricky subject because the pronunciation can differ based on where you are from and your accent. Yes, in moderation it can be. Make Chocolate Last Longer (Ultimate Guide), 10 Best Hot Chocolate Mixes (Hot Cocoa for Cold Nights) Brands/Reviews, 1.5% theobromine (alkaloid stimulant, similar to caffeine). When you use my links, I may earn an affiliate commission. I’m 19 and I love food! So far, I’ve covered chocolate liquor, hot chocolate, and chocolate covered espresso beans. But first, let’s look a little closer at what is meant when the word liquor is used in reference to alcohol. But there’s some confusion about what it is (and if it contains alcohol). On the right are the cocoa nibs, to the left the cocoa butter and at the top cocoa powder. Drew Haines is an animal enthusiast, travel writer, and content marketer. No, they are not the same. What is liqueur used for? There are compounds in the chocolate nibs (like theobromine and caffeine) that a dog’s system cannot handle as we can. The darker the chocolate the more caffeine it contains. Quite simply, ‘chocolate liqueur’ describes liqueur that tastes like chocolate — shocking, we know. The roasted cocoa nibs are ground to a fine grind and then the chocolate paste or liquor is made. Many people call any beverage containing alcohol: liquor. [2] A French manual published in 1780 also describes chocolate liqueur. In the video, they go on to extract the cocoa butter. There is mention, in French, of producing and selling chocolate en liqueur as early as 1666. But when it comes to liqueurs, they usually contain alcohol so it’s best to make sure it’s non-alcoholic if you’re concerned. Chocolate liquor is also known as cocoa liquor, cocoa mass, cocoa paste and cacao mass. Liquor usually refers to a distilled alcohol without any flavoring. Chocolate liquor is the base substance from which chocolate is made. According to What Einstein Told His Cook: Kitchen Science Explained, these are the 5 major components of chocolate liquor. It comes from chocolate nibs that do not contain dairy. Liquor, Liqueur: What’s the Difference? According to Merriam Webster, this is how they should be pronounced (or at least from my perspective): Are any of those options how you pronounce those words? The chocolate liquor contains cocoa solids and cocoa butter in fairly equal amounts. A standard beer usually has about 5% of alcohol. [3] An 1803 French pharmacy manual includes a recipe for a chocolate liqueur (ratafia de chocolat, also ratafia de cacao). Benjamin Wallace writes in his book The Billionaire's Vinegar that at a wine tasting of 19th century wines from Château Latour, provided by Rodenstock, several people noted the wines had a flavor of chocolate liqueur and were fakes. This is one of the most unapologetically luxurious flavour combinations in culinary history. Its ingredients included sherry, port, chocolate, and sugar. Chocolate liqueur is an alcoholic drink that uses a base such as whiskey or vodka and has chocolate in it to give it a clear chocolate taste. In its purest form, chocolate liqueur is clear; coloring may be added. [6], In 1994, there were several brands of chocolate liqueur on the market; this is attributed to a 1990s "chocolate craze". Once the skins are removed from the beans the nibs (the inside part of the bean) are ground into a cocoa mass called cocoa paste. Chocolate Liqueurs GODIVA ® Liqueurs embody the commitment to quality craftsmanship and the chocolate artistry of the Godiva Chocolatier. The French word "crème" refers to the creamy texture of this very sweet liqueur, achieved by having a sugar content of at least 250 g/l as required by European law, and there is no dairy cream in it. Research is important so it may be best to call the manufacture of the product you’re concerned about just to make sure of all the ingredients. Chocolate liquor, it sounds good right? They are talking about liquor and liqueur in general, but this also applies to chocolate liqueur. There are three types of chocolate liqueur: liqueur, cream liqueur, and crème de cacao. Chocolate liquor does not contain alcohol. As we talked about earlier, chocolate liquor that refers to the base mass of cocoa solids does not contain alcohol, so it is not the same as a chocolate liqueur. Chocolate is one of those things that seems to put anyone in a good mood. They can sound so similar depending on who you’re talking to. And I’m just getting started. The wonderful little cocoa nibs from which all chocolate is made. And it’s always good to be less confused about something that matters to you. The chocolate you consume is more than cocoa liquor, cocoa butter and cocoa powder. She lived in Ecuador for 6 years and explored the Galapagos Islands. She loves to share her passion through her writing. The alcohol content of crème de cacao varies, but 20% to 25% ABV (40–50 proof (U.S.)) is common. [11], Arguably the most controversial use may be in connection with a scandal concerning the provenance of certain 17th century bottles of wines said to have belonged to Thomas Jefferson, and traded by Hardy Rodenstock. Modern chocolate wine can be considered as a subspecies of chocolate liquor. We’ve established that the cocoa bean growth and processing affects the flavor and quality of chocolate, but what about the other ingredients? You can buy or make non-alcoholic chocolate liqueur as well. . You may think that because it is a more pure form of chocolate it would be alright, but it isn’t. [1] Context suggests this is a chocolate liqueur, not a chocolate liquor or cocoa bean extract nor any other chocolate flavored beverage. The alcohol content of crème de cacao varies, but 20% to 25% ABV (40–50 proof (U.S.)) is common. [12] Wine and chocolate are a classic flavor pairing, and this is reflected in some cocktails that combine a strong red wine with a dash of chocolate liqueur.[13]. Offer a small glass of this chocolate alcohol drink to your guests after dinner and you will see their eyes sparkle! Have a question about chocolate? Chocolate liqueur can have around 2.5 percent alcohol in it. Pure chocolate liquor (cocoa liquor/cocoa paste) is dairy free. Respect the Chocolate covers the chocolate universe. If you’re health conscious. For homemade chocolate liqueur, it's important to use a clear, unflavored, grain alcohol with a high alcohol content (proof). If you’re talking about chocolate liquor, as in what is used to make chocolaty treats, then no there is no alcohol. The beans are fermented, dried and then roasted. In this post, you’ll learn the differences between chocolate liquor and chocolate liqueur.